Galesburg Country Homes

The Galesburg Country Homes subdivision was designed by Wright in 1947 as a cooperative community. It is one of two cooperatives founded by a group of young scientists employed at the Upjohn Company who prevailed upon Wright to design affordable houses they could build themselves --the other is Parkwyn Village in Kalamazoo.

These are Usonian Houses and were designed to be moderately priced with "a pattern for more simplified and ...more gracious living." Only four Wright-designed houses were constructed in Galesburg.

The David I. Weisblat Residence (1948) was the first of four homes built in the subdivision. The roof over the living room is cantilevered from the fireplace masonry core, allowing window walls that require no intermediary supports.

The Eric Pratt Residence (1948) has a long "I" plan with a central living room and is primarily of Wright textile-block construction.

The Samuel Eppstein Residence (1948) has an "I" plan with living room above the garage at the northern end (on the left in the photo below). The house is of textile-block construction.

The Curtis Meyer Residence (1948) is a solar hemicycle facing east down the hill and away from the road. The drum sits on the crest of the hill and encloses a stairway between the living room on the lower level and the carport and bedrooms on the upper level. The house is of block construction. Photo courtesy of and © Doug LaBrecque.

photographs © jhd-designz

Location: just off Interstate 94, Galesburg, Michigan

Frank Lloyd Wright® is a registered trademark of the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation
The Little House window design is Copyright © 1998 The Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation, Scottsdale, AZ.

For Wright resources on the internet visit Wright on the Web